Plants aren’t really my thing.

But I kind of wish they could be. They’re so alive in a different sort of way than we are.

Especially in the last few years, plants have become something that is intrinsically attached to my sister and her personality. It has seemed to get increasingly  less of something that I could ever do myself because it is her “thing,” not mine.

IMG_2879It is funny how we can sometimes become so intimidated or fearful of our ineptitude because someone around us excels at it more than we do. We don’t sew because we think we’re bad at it. We don’t skateboard because we fall off a few times. We don’t cook because we burnt a can of soup. It is sad that we easily and subconsciously prevent ourselves from learning new things.

With that being said, I bought myself some ornamental bamboo from ikea the other day. I’ve kind of lived at ikea in the last few weeks… or rather months? Anyways, It seems like I go just about once a week, but on my most recent trip I found these little guys for $1.99 each. I got myself a few stems as a secret little project for myself. I won’t be telling my sister that I’m interested in it because I want it to be mine. They say that according to the art of feng shui, each number of bamboo stems is said to bring different things. On the whole, the plant is said to be used to attract things like good health, happiness, love and abundance. Basically it is attracting luck and good things. Of course there is no harm in that as far as I’m concerned.

Each arrangement of bamboo has a specific number of stalks. The meanings behind each number are derived from Chinese words resembling the numbers. For example: Eight sounds like the Chinese word “Fah” which means to grow or thrive. Therefore having anIMG_2876arrangement of eight bamboo stalks will help a person grow and thrive.

Other numbers:

TWO– Successful couple or relationship

THREE– Luck, Wealth, & Longevity

FIVE– Five branches of life from which wealth is derived

SIX– Prosperity & Favorable Conditions

SEVEN– Good Health

EIGHT– Grow & Thrive

TEN– Complete & Perfect

TWENTY-ONE – All Purpose Blessing

I would like to learn about cacti eventually. That could be my type of plant, the thing that opens the gate that I’ve created for myself to the plant world. Cacti seem to be a little less fussy than others and it is something that I think would be fascinating to learn about. Some cacti can grow to be very big or tall, or quite round. They are all so different. Some of them look alien and you can hardly believe they could be found in the wild. Their needs are also quite different from other plants. They can easily be drowned or starved for water. Their roots even need to be planted in very different kinds of soil than normal. They will eventually die if they are left in a pot too small. These are things I have learned so far.

I want to feel like I can have plants, because they remind me to be still and calm down. All they seem to do is sit there and put one after another leaf out. I’d like to have that kind of a reminder in my home.

Leave a comment